Smokefree environments

China’s cities lead the way on smokefree environments

The Union has been working with eight large Chinese cities – Guangzhou, Harbin, Lanzhou, Nanchang, Shenyang, Tianjin, Shenzhen and Jinan – to develop and implement local smokefree legislation. These cities account for a population of almost 70 million people. Three of the cities – Guangzhou, Harbin and Tianjin – have begun implementing their new laws. The remaining cities are all in the process of legislating comprehensive smokefree environments.

Smoke-free legislation in Bulgaria

In March 2011, The Union invited a delegation from the Bulgarian Ministry of Health and partner NGOs from Bulgaria to attend an MPOWER tobacco control workshop. During the workshop, the delegation developed an action plan for establishing comprehensive smoke-free legislation. Their plan was ambitious given that a complete smoking ban had been repealed in Bulgaria in 2010 due to tobacco industry interests within the incumbent government.

Following the workshop, The Union continued to support the development of the legislation through the Bulgarian National Tobacco Control Coalition. In May 2012, the parliament finally adopted legislation to ban smoking in all enclosed public places.