The Union Medal

The Union Medal, The Union’s highest honour, is awarded to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the control of tuberculosis or lung health by their scientific work and/or actions in the field. The Medal is presented during the Inaugural session at the World Conference on Lung Health.

The Union Medal

Nominations are currently open for this award. Make a nomination now

Nominations close on 6 May 2019


  • 2018: Sir Alimuddin Zumla (Zambia)  
  • 2018: Prof Andrew Nunn (UK) 
  • 2016: Prof Lee B Reichman (US)
  • 2015: Prof Denis A Mitchison (UK)
  • 2014: Prof Jacques Grosset (France)
  • 2013: Prof Donald A Enarson (Canada)
  • 2011: Prof John F Murray (USA)
  • 2010: Prof Peter Donald (South Africa)
  • 2006: Prof Margaret Becklake (Canada)
  • 2005: Sir John Crofton (UK)
  • 2005: Prof Neil Walton White (South Africa) – Special Medal (posthumous)
  • 2004: Dr Jacob Kumaresan (India)
  • 2004: The American Lung Association (USA)
  • 2002: The Rt Hon Susan Whelan (Canada)
  • 2002: Dr Arata Kochi (Japan)
  • 1998: Prof Jacques Chrétien (France)
  • 1998: Dr Knut Ovreberg (Norway)
Make a nomination now for the 2019 Awards